Home > PEOPLE > Departments > Mathematics

Mathematics


Maths-dpt.jpg

Vision

A gracious community of lifelong learners with a strong mathematical foundation to excel in an ever-changing world

Mission

To provide positive learning experiences in the learning of Mathematics and nurture JYians into maximising their potential

Overview

The Maths departments aims to cultivate a love for Mathematics in all JYians. One way to do so is to apply their learning to real-world problems. This will give them the confidence to be more self-directed and the social skills to collaborate with each other. Ultimately , we aim to achieve sustained value-added results for Mathematics and Additional Mathematics.

Programmes & Activities

Providing Learning Experiences to engage and motivate learners.
PLE1.jpg PLE2.jpg PLE3.jpg
 
Use of ICT in Teaching and Learning (E-portal and Webquest)
uoi1.jpg uoi2.jpg

Bridging Programme for Foundation Math students
Math Competition Training
Intensive Revision Programme for Graduating students

IMG_0245[1].JPG   Students using models of 3D-shapes to calculate surface area and volume.

Achievements

 Australian Mathematics Competition 2015 1 Distinctions 
11 Credits 
34 Proficiency awards
  Australian Mathematics Competition 201413 Credits  
29 Proficiency awards
 Singapore Secondary School Mathematics Competition
Group award - 5th position for Upper Sec NA 

Individual award - Upper Sec NT, 2nd (Chai Zhang Xin Ran) and Upper Sec NA, 17th (Wenxin, 5A1) 
 Singapore Secondary School Mathematical Olympiad1 honourable mention - Lee Zhen Wei, 4E1. 
 Australian Mathematics Competition 2013 1 Higher Distinction  
  4 Distinctions
3 Credits 
15 Proficiency awards

Singapore Secondary Schools Mathematical Olympiad 2013
1 Bronze 
2 Honourable Mention
Australian Mathematics Competition 2015 winners.IMG_3278.JPG

All Singapore Secondary School Mathematics Competition for Normal Stream
ASSMC.jpg

Organisation Chart

HOD / MATHEMATICS
MDM NORHAFIANI A MAJID (head of department).JPG

Mdm Norhafiani Abd Majid
HOD Mathematics
Email
norhafiani_abdul_majid@moe. edu.sg

TEACHERS
Ms Koh1.jpgMs Koh Shu Jiun
Subject Head Mathematics
Email 
koh_shu_jiun@moe.edu.sg

MR MUSTAFA  BIN ALI.jpg  Mr Mustafa Ali
Senior Teacher Mathematics
Education Support  
Email :
Mustafa_ali@moe.edu.sg
MDM MAK WAI HAN (senior teacher).JPG  Mdm Mak Wai Han 
Senior Teacher Mathematics 
Email 
mak_wai_han@moe.edu.sg
zhiwen.jpgMr Cai Zhiwen 
HOD Discipline 
Email 
cai_zhiwen@moe.edu.sg
17.  MS ONG XIAN QING.jpgMs Ong Xian Qing 
Assistant Year Head (Lower Sec) 
Email 
ong_xian_qing@moe.edu.sg
MR WANG WOON KEAT.jpg  Mr Wang Woon Keat 
Assistant Year Head
(Upper Sec) 
Email 
wang_woon_keat@moe.edu.sg

  MS CHRISTINA NG.JPGMs Christina Ng 
Subject Head Aesthetics  
Email 
ng_puay_san_christina@moe.edu.sg

12.  MR ALBERT LUI.jpgMr Albert Lui 
Class 3A2 Co-Form Teacher
Email 
lui_tze_ting@moe.edu.sg
MR V SURYA.jpgMr V Surya   
Class 2A1 Co-Form Teacher
Email 
v_surya@moe.edu.sg  
   
miss khoo woei lin.JPG Ms Khoo Woei Lin
Class 1A2 Form Teacher
Email :
khoo_woei_lin@moe.edu.sg
mdm shurtini bte sayuti.JPGMdm Shurtini Sayuti
Class 1A1 Co-Form Teacher 
Email :  
shurtini_sayuti@moe.edu.sg
MRS SOPHIA ANG.jpgMrs Sophia Ang 
Training Coordinator  
Email  
goh_hwee_tuan@moe.edu.sg














 
   

MS KATHERINE CHOO.JPG
Mrs Katherine Leong 
Class 3T1 Form Teacher
Level Discipline (Upper Sec) 
Email 
Choo_bee_leng@moe.edu.sg

mr lim cheng chuan.JPG
Mr Lim Cheng Chuan 
Class 4T1 Co-Form Teacher 
Email 
lim_cheng_chuan@moe.edu.sg
 
700_4306resized.jpg
 Mr Soh Wei Qiang
Class 2E3 Form Teacher 
Prefect Master
Email : 
soh_wei_qiang @moe.edu.sg
 
     
700_4277resized.jpgMs Yeo Yee Teng 
Class 2A2 Form Teacher 
Email   
yeo_yee_teng_a@moe.edu.sg

Zhiwen.jpgMr Chung Zhiwen
Class 4A3 Form Teacher
Email :
chung_zhiwen@moe.edu.sg
mr jeremy tan300.jpgMr Jeremy Tan
Class 2E3 Co-Form Teacher
Email :  
tan_boon_hock@moe.edu.sg

   
Mr Lim.jpgMr Lim Hock Beng
Adjunct Teacher
Email :
lim_hock_beng@moe.edu.sg
 
 Thomes-Ong.jpgMr Thomas Ong 
Adjunct Teacher 
Email : 
thomas_ong_xian_wei@moe.edu.sg